ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL	
MEETING:	COUNTY COUNCIL
DATE:	8 <sup>TH</sup> DECEMBER 2011
TITLE OF REPORT :	NEW STANDARDS COMMITTEE – 2011
REPORT BY :	THE MONITORING OFFICER
CONTACT OFFICER:	MEIRION JONES (ext 2563)
PURPOSE OF REPORT :	TO APPOINT A NEW STANDARDS COMMITTEE

## **BACKGROUND**

- 1. Under Part III of the Local Government Act 2000 (as amended by the Local Government Act 2006) the Council must have a Standards Committee consisting of no fewer than five and no more than nine Members.
- 2. This Council in revising the structure of the Standards Committee removed County Councillors from the Standards Committee but following the Direction of the Minister they were reinstated. The Standards Committee currently consists of five independent / lay members, one Town / Community Council member and three County Councillors. The three Councillors are Trefor Lloyd Hughes, J Arwel Roberts and Jeuan Williams.
- 3. The five current independent / lay Members and the Town / Community Council Member of the Standards Committee will all cease to hold office on the 17<sup>th</sup> of December 2011. It will be necessary for new appointments to take effect from the 18<sup>th</sup> December 2011.
- 4. At least one Member of the Standards Committee must be a Town or Community Councillor who must be collectively nominated by the Town and Community Councils. The Independent Members must be appointed by the Council.
- 5. The County Council resolved on the 12<sup>th</sup> of May 2011 to endorse the recommendations of the Commissioners to the Welsh Ministers to amend the Council's Constitution by increasing the number of Town / Community Council representatives on the Standards Committee to two, and to authorise officers to make any consequential amendments to the Constitution and also to recommend that the membership of the Standards Committee, with effect from 18<sup>th</sup> of December 2011, shall be two County Councillors, five Independent Members and two Community / Town Councillors. The Minister for Local Government and Communities, Carl Sargeant, authorised these changes to the Constitution on the 20<sup>th</sup> of November 2011.

CC-013763-LB/129551 Page 1

- 6. All current Independent Members of the Standards Committee hold office for a term of four years. All current independent / lay members on the Standards Committee, with the exception of the Chairperson, Jeff Cotterell, were eligible to apply again for one further term but none decided to apply.
- 7. Regulations require that Independent Members shall only be appointed after compliance with the statutory selection process. That process began with a Selection Panel being established by the County Council at its Meeting on the 12<sup>th</sup> of May 2011. The Council appointed three County Councillors to the Panel, namely, Councillor W J Chorlton, Councillor Bryan Owen and Councillor Bob Parry. The Council gave authority to "One Voice Wales" to select a Town / Community Councillor to serve on the Selection Panel and Town Councillor Dan Jones of Beaumaris Town Council was appointed.
- 8. The Regulations also require the appointment of an independent person to serve on the Selection Panel. That selection process was delegated, by the Council, to a Panel of Officers who, following advertisement and written applications, selected Ms Gillian Richards as the Independent Member of the Selection Panel.
- 9. The Selection Panel drew up criteria for the selection of new Independent Members. The vacancies were published in advertisements in the local press inviting written applications from members of the public wishing to be considered for membership of the Standards Committee. An information pack and application form, approved by the Selection Panel, were provided to those expressing an interest.
- 10. The Selection Panel met to consider the applications received and agreed upon those to be invited for interview. In total, the Council received eight applications and the Panel resolved to invite six applicants for interview. Interviews took place on the 23<sup>rd</sup> November 2011.
- 11. On the 23<sup>rd</sup> of November 2011 the Panel selected the five applicants whom it now wishes to nominate to the Council for appointment to the new Standards Committee.
- 12. The applicants have been advised of the Panel's decision and have confirmed, in writing, their acceptance of each nomination.
- 13. The Town and Community Councils were also asked to nominate two, collectively agreed, Town / Community Councillors to be appointed to the new Standards Committee. Those nominations were agreed at a meeting which took place on the 10<sup>th</sup> of November 2011.
- 14. As the number of County Councillors on the Standards Committee is being reduced from three to two as from 18<sup>th</sup> December 2011, it is necessary for the Council to make those two appointments.
- 15. Finally, the Council is also asked to consider the merits of allowing the Standards Committee Selection Panel to remain in place, to fill any casual vacancies which may arise. Subject to the Council's approval, the Members of the Selection Panel have agreed to this proposal albeit that a new appointment/s may be necessary for the elected members, including the Town / Community Council representative, following local elections.

CC-013763-LB/129551 Page 2

## **RECOMMENDATIONS**

1. With effect from the 18<sup>th</sup> of December 2011, until the 17<sup>th</sup> of December 2015, the Council appoints the following Independent Members to the Standards Committee:-

Mrs Denise Harris-Edwards Mr Islwyn Jones Mr Leslie Lord Mrs Dilys Shaw Mr Michael Wilson

- 2. With effect from the 18<sup>th</sup> of December 2011, until the 17<sup>th</sup> of December 2015, or for the period until the ordinary elections for the Community Council of which the Community Council Member is a member next following the appointment of that person as a Community Council Member of that Community, whichever is the shorter, the Council appoints Councillor W Raymond Evans of Llanfihangelesceifiog Community Council and Councillor John Roberts of Llanfairpwll Community Council, as the two Town / Community Council representatives of the Standards Committee.
- 3. With effect from 18<sup>th</sup> December 2011 until the 17<sup>th</sup> December 2015 or for the period until the ordinary local government elections for the Isle of Anglesey County Council next following the appointment of that person as a member of this Authority's Standards Committee, whichever is the shorter, the Council is requested to appoint two County Councillor Members on the Standards Committee. (The current members are as stated in paragraph 2 of this Report).
- 4. The Standards Committee Selection Panel shall remain in place, for the purpose of filling any casual vacancies which may arise, until a new Panel is established in 2015.

CC-013763-LB/129551 Page 3